A Provisional License

After you pass your DMV road test, you can drive solo without supervision; however, during the first 12 months of licensing, there will be restrictions on your provisional license:

  • You can’t drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
  • You can’t have any passengers under 20 years old in your car, unless you’re with a licensed driver over 25 years old.
  • Drivers younger than 18 – are prohibited from all cell phone use.

Under the Influence

  • Only drive sober, drug free and well rested (this includes prescription medications).
  • Only ride in a car with someone who is sober, drug/alcohol free and is well rested (this includes prescription medications).
  • Call a parent if you are in a situation where you feel it is unsafe to drive, or unsafe to ride with someone else.
  • Driving under the influence before the age of 21 is an automatic license suspension of 1 year, mandatory community service, driving defense school, insurance rate increases and fines regardless of toxicity level.

Distractions-Cell Phones and Texting

  • All California drivers are prohibited from using handheld cell phones while driving.
  • All California drivers are prohibited from texting.
  • If you need to use a cell phone, pull over to a safe location away from traffic before using a phone.
  • Participate in safe and proper behavior that keeps you focused on the road and free from all distractions.
  • Create a plan to eliminate distractions (put your cell phone in the glove box).

Safety Belts

  • Wear your safety belt at all times. It is illegal to ride in a car without your safety belt on.
  • Only ride in a vehicle as a passenger while being buckled up.
  • Only ride in a vehicle where the driver and other passengers are buckled up.

General Safety

  • ALWAYS obey the posted speed limit.
  • Consider the weather and road conditions and adjust your speed appropriately.
  • Follow safe driving practices and avoid tailgating, speeding, weaving in and out of traffic or participating in any aggressive or reckless driving behavior.
  • Only drive when you are calm and emotionally controlled. Only be a passenger in a vehicle in which I feel comfortable or safe.

 

 

http://www.calif.aaa.com/home/automotive/driver-education/teen-programs.html